Qualifications and Assessment Criteria

Qualifications

The qualifications for appointment to the Supreme Court of Canada are set out in the Supreme Court Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. S 26.  Section 5 provides that “Any person may be appointed a judge who is or has been a judge of a superior court of a province or a barrister or advocate of at least ten years standing at the bar of a province.”

In order to be eligible for appointment to the Supreme Court of Canada, a candidate must be:

(1)    a current judge of a superior court of a province, including courts of appeal;

(2)    a former judge of such a court;

(3)    a current barrister or advocate of at least 10 years standing at the bar of a province; or

(4)    a former barrister or advocate of at least 10 years standing.

There are special rules for appointment of three judges from Quebec.  Section 6 provides that “At least three of the judges shall be appointed from among the judges of the Court of Appeal or of the Superior Court of the Province of Quebec or from among the advocates of that Province.”   In the Reference re Supreme Court Act, ss 5 and 6, the Supreme Court stated that only current superior court judges (i.e. judges of the Court of Appeal of Quebec and the Superior Court of Quebec) and current members of the Quebec bar of at least 10 years standing are eligible for appointment to one of the three Quebec positions on the Supreme Court.

All judges of the Supreme Court must live in the National Capital Region or within 40 kilometres thereof.  Candidates must either currently meet this qualification or undertake to move their residence, if appointed to the Supreme Court, in order to meet it.

 

Functional bilingualism

The Government has committed to only appoint judges who are functionally bilingual.  

The Supreme Court hears appeals in both English and French.  Written materials may be submitted in either official language and counsel may present oral argument in the official language of their choice.   Judges may ask questions in English or French.  It is expected that a Supreme Court judge can read materials and understand oral argument without the need for translation or interpretation in French and English.  Ideally, the judge can converse with counsel during oral argument and with other judges of the Court in French or English.

 

 

Assessment Criteria

Judges of the Supreme Court of Canada face multiple, complex and occasionally competing expectations.  In keeping with Canada’s evolution into a mature constitutional democracy, the role of the courts, and the Supreme Court in particular, has become ever more important. The criteria for appointment to the Court must reflect both the needs of any court of final appeal, and the particular circumstances, history and context of Canadian society and its legal system.   The criteria must facilitate the Court’s ability to: resolve disputes between and among all manner of parties, communicate its decisions effectively to the Canadian public, uphold the constitution, and protect the rule of law.

Criteria for assessment may be grouped along two axes, one individual and the other institutional.  Individual criteria relate to the skills, experience and qualities of candidates themselves.  Particulars of legal training, of non-legal professional experience and of community involvement will vary greatly from individual to individual, but must be assessed to arrive at an evaluation of the candidate’s potential for excellence in the judicial function.  There are also numerous personal qualities that will bear on whether a candidate has the appropriate judicial temperament.  Institutional criteria will overlap to some degree with individual ones.  But as the Court’s composition shifts over time, particular needs may emerge as more necessary to enable the Court to perform its general and final appellate function in all legal areas.

Part of the selection process will involve determining the ways and degree to which particular candidates embody the skills, experience and qualities that best meet the Court’s needs at a particular point in time.  The selection process must retain an appropriate degree of flexibility.

 

Personal Skills and Experience

1.       Demonstrated superior knowledge of the law.

The chief consideration for any appointment is a person’s ability to perform, and achieve excellence in, judging.  At the Supreme Court, cases and references can arise in any legal area including public, private and international law.  Judges must interpret and apply the governing statute and rules of the Supreme Court in a variety of proceedings relating to hearings, motions and appeals.   Candidates for the Court must therefore possess deep knowledge of the law, in particular Canadian law.  Knowledge of indigenous legal traditions may also be considered.  This depth of skill may be acquired in a variety of ways: specialized legal training and study, professional practice, authoritative or scholarly legal writing and/or prior judicial experience.

The Supreme Court hears cases from matters under federal jurisdiction as well as from all provinces and territories, including Quebec, which follows a civil law tradition for most private law matters.  Familiarity with the civil law tradition, therefore, is a strength for any candidate.

2.       Superior analytical skills.

A jurist must synthesize, distinguish, compare and contrast a variety of legal sources.  They must efficiently determine which of the vast possible materials that constitute “the law” are most relevant to a specific legal question; and understand, weigh and resolve conflicts among those materials. An appellate judge must also review lower court decisions, determine appropriate grounds of appeal, distinguish between questions of fact and law and apply the suitable level of deference or correction.  All of these are analytical functions requiring an exceptionally high degree of skill and discernment.

3.       Ability to resolve complex legal problems

The core function of the Supreme Court is to adjudicate legal disputes and to provide reasons explaining its decisions. As an adjudicator, a judge is not just required to hear a case, but to give an answer: to bring the matter to a legal conclusion.  In appellate cases, resolution may be elusive as the issues tend to feature reasonably competing arguments.  Nonetheless, a judge must be able to arrive at a sound decision, to support that decision with reasons and to provide the requisite certainty so that the instant dispute is resolved, and so that lower courts receive sufficient guidance to decide similar cases in the future.

Therefore, prior experience in adjudication is relevant though not essential.  Adjudication can occur in many contexts, including administrative tribunals, arbitration bodies, and trial and appellate courts.  As the Supreme Court is itself an appellate court, prior appellate judicial experience may be especially relevant but, again, is not essential for appointment.

4.       Awareness of, and ability to synthesize information about, the social context in which legal disputes arise.

 A judge should demonstrate a general awareness of and an interest in knowing about the social problems that give rise to cases coming before the courts.   They should be sensitive to changes in social values relating to the subject matter of cases before the Supreme Court.  Many of the cases that the Supreme Court hears are not solely focussed on technical questions of law.  Instead, they involve complex interactions between law and fact, particularly social facts that help to explain a law’s purpose, the way that it tends to function and its effects on people or society as a whole.  This interaction between law and social fact is most prominent in constitutional cases, but is not limited to them.  A judge must therefore be able to receive evidence and argument about these social facts, or context, and use them to appropriately resolve the specific questions posed.

5.       Clarity of thought, particularly as demonstrated through written expression.

In most cases, the Supreme Court is expected to, and does, issue written reasons for its decisions.  Decisions are the Court’s most important method of communicating with parties, with courts, with other branches of government, and with the Canadian public. Reasons help to explain the basis for deciding complex legal issues one way versus another.  Reasons also satisfy the Court’s duty to provide guidance to the lower courts which are expected to apply those decisions in future cases.    Excellence in written expression is thus essential to the Court’s work, and a candidate’s prior writing must be reviewed.  Such writing can take a number of forms: judicial decisions, reports, memoranda of legal arguments, books, treatises and scholarly articles. The writing may be reviewed for, among other things, clarity, precision, command of the law, persuasiveness and balance.   It is expected that the materials reviewed will primarily be legal in nature, though non-legal written expression may provide some assistance.

6.       Ability to work under significant time pressures requiring diligent review of voluminous materials in any area of law.

The Supreme Court hears appeals in all areas of law.  Its nine members share a variety of adjudicative tasks. Cases at the Supreme Court often contain hundreds of pages of materials, and judges work on multiple cases at the same time.   Judges must review materials in preparation for cases, review materials for decisions they are writing and review drafts and memos from their colleagues.  The workload is heavy and constant. The job therefore requires significant stamina, industry and learning ability.

7.       Commitment to public service

Judges are part of the community and fulfill an essential service to the public in addition to their constitutional role as impartial dispute arbiters.  A demonstrated commitment to community engagement through involvement in community and volunteer organizations is a strength.

 

 

Personal Qualities

1.       Irreproachable personal and professional integrity.

The Supreme Court has noted: “The judge is the pillar of the entire justice system and of the rights and freedoms which that system is designed to promote and protect”.   Judges must themselves embody the ideals upon which the rule of law depends.

Canadians, thus, rightfully expect the highest level of ethical conduct from judges.  As the Chief Justice of Canada has stated, “The ability of Canada’s legal system to function effectively and to deliver the kind of justice that Canadians need and deserve depends in large part on the ethical standards of our judges.”  As noted by the Canadian Judicial Council’s Ethical Principles for Judges, “Public confidence in and respect for the judiciary are essential to an effective judicial system and, ultimately, to democracy founded on the rule of law.” 

2.       Respect and consideration for others.

The Supreme Court is a collegial court which is composed of nine judges who work and sit together day in and day out.   Its judges deal with issues of the highest national importance.    Their decisions are final and not subject to appeal to any other court in Canada.  It is critical that each judge is able to work collaboratively with his or her colleagues and debate issues in a respectful and constructive manner.  In addition, judges must be sensitive when dealing with persons in subordinate positions.  It is expected that they will model the highest standards of professionalism, respect and courtesy.

3.       Ability to appreciate a diversity of views, perspectives and life experiences, including those relating to groups historically disadvantaged in Canadian society.

Along with legal expertise, a judge will invariably draw on common sense and experience.  It is, therefore, crucial that their perspective is neither too narrow nor resistant to change.  A judge must have the capacity to empathize with persons who come from backgrounds that are very different from her own. 

4.       Moral courage

Judicial independence has been recognized as an unwritten constitutional principle under Canada’s Constitution.   It exists in order to protect the ability of judges to decide cases impartially, free of any external influence or coercion.   Canadian judges enjoy a high degree of independence that is respected around the world.  Nevertheless, Supreme Court judges sometimes face extremely challenging issues.  They may be faced with making a decision that is at odds with the stated wishes of the government, with public opinion or with the views of their colleagues.   This requires a measure of fortitude.

5.       Discretion

Judges deal with sensitive and personal information.  Their discussions are subject to deliberative secrecy and cannot be revealed.   It is critical therefore that judges conduct themselves in a discreet fashion.

6.       Open-mindedness

One of the most important qualities of a judge is the ability to maintain an open mind about any case that comes before him or her.  To be clear, judges are not expected to operate as blank slates.  The fact that a candidate has expressed an opinion on some issue that may one day come before the Court is not disqualifying.  But a judge must be seen as able to weigh the evidence and argument in a particular case fairly and impartially, and to set aside any prior personal opinions when rendering a decision.

 

Institutional Needs of the Court

1.       Ensuring a reasonable balance between public and private law expertise, bearing in mind the historic patterns of distribution between those areas in Supreme Court appeals.

The Supreme Court of Canada is a general court of appeal for Canada which hears appeals in all subject areas from provincial and territorial courts of appeal, from the Federal Court of Appeal and from the Court Martial Appeal Court of Canada.   According to the most recent statistics, approximately one quarter of the cases heard by the Supreme Court are criminal non-Charter cases, almost another fifth are criminal Charter cases, and another fifth are non-criminal constitutional/Charter cases.    The Court hears other types of cases but the subject-areas just noted represent the most significant areas of the Court’s workload.

2.       Expertise in any specific subject matter that regularly features in appeals and is currently underrepresented on the Court

Because of its diverse caseload, the Court must have judges with a diversity of expertise in order to address particular subject matters that will arise.  A vacancy on the Court may give rise to a need for expertise in a particular subject matter: e.g. criminal, administrative, federal or commercial law.

3.       Ensuring that the members of the Supreme Court are reasonably reflective of the diversity of Canadian society.

Canada is one of the world’s most diverse societies, but that diversity is not fully reflected in its institutions.  The Supreme Court is the most important and recognizable symbol of the justice system.   Having a Court that is reasonably reflective of Canadian diversity helps to ensure that, in any particular case, the Court can benefit from a range of viewpoints and perspectives. A reasonably reflective Court also promotes public confidence in the administration of justice as well as in the appointment process.

Qualifications et critères d'évaluation

Qualifications

Les qualifications requises en vue d’une nomination à la Cour suprême du Canada sont précisées dans la Loi sur la Cour suprême, L.R.C. (1985), ch. S-26. L’article 5 prévoit ce qui suit : « Les juges sont choisis parmi les juges, actuels ou anciens, d’une cour supérieure provinciale et parmi les avocats inscrits pendant au moins dix ans au barreau d’une province. »

Pour pouvoir être nommé à la Cour suprême du Canada, un candidat doit respecter l’une des conditions suivantes :

(1)    être actuellement un juge d’une cour supérieure provinciale, y compris les cours d’appel;

(2)    avoir été un juge d’une telle cour;

(3)    être actuellement un avocat inscrit pendant au moins dix ans au barreau d’une province;

(4)    avoir été un avocat inscrit pendant au moins dix ans au barreau d’une province.

Il y a des règles spéciales pour la nomination des trois juges du Québec. L’article 6 prévoit ce qui suit : « Au moins trois des juges sont choisis parmi les juges de la Cour d’appel ou de la Cour supérieure de la province de Québec ou parmi les avocats de celle-ci. » Dans le Renvoi relatif à la Loi sur la Cour suprême, art. 5 et 6, la Cour suprême a fait observer que seuls les juges actuels d’une cour supérieure (c.-à-d., les juges de la Cour d’appel du Québec et de la Cour supérieure du Québec) et les membres actuels du Barreau du Québec inscrits pendant au moins 10 ans sont admissibles à une nomination à l’un des trois postes du Québec à la Cour suprême.

Tous les juges de la Cour suprême doivent habiter dans la région de la capitale nationale ou dans un rayon de 40 kilomètres de celle-ci. Les candidats doivent posséder actuellement cette qualification ou changer de résidence en vue de posséder cette qualification s’ils sont nommés à la Cour suprême.

 

Effectivement bilingue

Le gouvernement s’est engagé à ne nommer que des juges qui sont effectivement bilingues.

La Cour suprême instruit des appels en français et en anglais. Les documents écrits peuvent être soumis dans l’une ou l’autre langue officielle, et les avocats peuvent plaider dans la langue officielle de leur choix. Les juges peuvent poser des questions en anglais ou en français. Il est prévu qu’un juge de la Cour suprême puisse lire des documents et comprendre un plaidoyer sans devoir recourir à la traduction ou à l’interprétation. Idéalement, le juge doit pouvoir discuter avec un avocat pendant un plaidoyer et avec les autres juges de la Cour en français ou en anglais.

 

 

Critères d’évaluation

Les juges de la Cour suprême du Canada sont confrontés à des attentes multiples, complexes et parfois contradictoires. Suivant l’évolution du Canada vers une démocratie constitutionnelle parvenue à maturité, le rôle des tribunaux, et de la Cour suprême en particulier, prend de plus en plus d’importance. Les critères en vue d’une nomination à la Cour doivent tenir compte à la fois des besoins de tout tribunal de dernière instance ainsi que des circonstances particulières, de l’histoire et du contexte de la société canadienne et de son système juridique. Les critères doivent renforcer la capacité de la Cour à régler les différends entre toutes sortes de parties, communiquer efficacement ses décisions au public canadien, faire respecter la Constitution et protéger la primauté du droit.

Les critères d’évaluation peuvent être regroupés en deux volets, l’un individuel et l’autre institutionnel. Les critères individuels ont trait aux aptitudes, à l’expérience et aux qualités des candidats eux-mêmes. Les particularités de la formation juridique, de l’expérience professionnelle non juridique et de l’engagement communautaire varieront beaucoup d’une personne à l’autre, mais elles doivent être évaluées pour obtenir une évaluation du potentiel d’excellence du candidat dans la fonction judiciaire. Il y a également de nombreuses qualités personnelles qui permettront de déterminer si un candidat a le tempérament approprié d’un juge. Les critères institutionnels pourraient, dans une certaine mesure, chevaucher les critères individuels. Toutefois, selon les besoins qui apparaissent au fil du temps, la Cour peut avoir besoin de juges possédant une expertise particulière pour lui permettre de s’acquitter de son rôle en tant que cour d’appel générale et finale dans tous les domaines juridiques.

Une partie du processus de sélection consistera à déterminer les façons par lesquelles des candidats particuliers incarnent les aptitudes, l’expérience et les qualités qui répondent le mieux aux besoins de la Cour à un moment donné précis. Le processus de sélection doit conserver un degré approprié de flexibilité

 

Aptitudes et expérience personnelles

1.       Connaissance supérieure démontrée du droit

Le principal élément à considérer en vue d’une nomination est la capacité d’une personne de juger, et d’atteindre l’excellence en la matière. À la Cour suprême, les affaires et les renvois peuvent avoir trait à différents domaines juridiques, dont le droit public, le droit privé et le droit international. Les juges doivent interpréter et appliquer la loi applicable de même que les règles de la Cour suprême dans diverses procédures relatives à des audiences, à des requêtes et à des appels. Les candidats pour la Cour doivent donc posséder une connaissance approfondie du droit, et en particulier du droit canadien. Une connaissance des traditions juridiques autochtones peut aussi être prise en compte. Ces aptitudes peuvent être acquises de différentes façons : formation juridique spécialisée et études, pratique professionnelle, rédaction d’opinions juridiques faisant autorité ou universitaires ou expérience judiciaire.

La Cour suprême instruit des affaires relevant de la compétence fédérale ainsi que de toutes les provinces et territoires, y compris le Québec dont la tradition juridique repose sur le droit civil pour la plupart des questions de droit privé. Par conséquent, une connaissance de la tradition civiliste est un avantage pour tout candidat.

2.       Aptitudes analytiques supérieures

Un juriste doit résumer diverses sources juridiques, les distinguer, les comparer et les opposer. Il doit déterminer les documents, parmi tous ceux qui peuvent former « le droit », qui sont les plus pertinents relativement à une question juridique particulière; et comprendre les conflits entre ces documents, en tenir compte et les résoudre. Un juge d’appel doit également examiner les décisions de tribunaux d’instance inférieure, déterminer les motifs d’appel appropriés, faire la distinction entre les questions de droit et de fait et appliquer le degré de retenue ou de correction approprié. Il s’agit là de fonctions analytiques exigeant un degré exceptionnellement élevé d’aptitudes et de discernement.

3.       Capacité de résoudre des problèmes juridiques complexes

La principale fonction de la Cour suprême est de trancher des litiges et de motiver ses décisions. En tant qu’arbitre, un juge est non seulement tenu d’entendre une affaire, mais également de donner une réponse et d’en arriver à une conclusion de droit. En appel, il peut être difficile de trancher l’affaire étant donné que les questions mettent généralement en évidence des arguments opposés raisonnables. Néanmoins, un juge doit être capable de prendre une décision éclairée, de motiver cette décision et de fournir la certitude requise pour régler le différend en question, et ainsi donner aux tribunaux d’instance inférieure une orientation suffisante pour trancher des affaires semblables à l’avenir.

Par conséquent, de l’expérience en matière de règlement est pertinente, mais non essentielle. Un règlement peut se produire dans de nombreux contextes, notamment devant des tribunaux administratifs, des organismes d’arbitrage ainsi que des tribunaux de première instance et des tribunaux d’appel. Étant donné que la Cour suprême est en soi une cour d’appel, de l’expérience judiciaire dans le cadre des tribunaux d’appel peut être particulièrement pertinente mais, encore une fois, ce n’est pas essentiel en vue d’une nomination.

4.       Conscience du contexte social dans lequel les litiges surviennent et capacité à résumer les renseignements pertinents.

Un juge doit démontrer une connaissance générale et un intérêt à l’égard des problèmes sociaux à la source des affaires soumises aux tribunaux. Il doit être sensible aux changements dans les valeurs sociales liées à la teneur des affaires dont la Cour suprême est saisie. Bon nombre des affaires dont la Cour suprême est saisie ne portent pas uniquement sur des questions juridiques d’ordre technique. Elles portent plutôt sur des interactions complexes entre la loi et les faits, en particulier des faits sociaux qui aident à expliquer l’objectif d’une loi, la façon dont elle fonctionne et ses effets sur les individus ou la société dans son ensemble. Cette interaction entre la loi et les faits sociaux est plus marquée dans les affaires constitutionnelles, mais ne s’y limite pas. Un juge doit donc pouvoir recevoir des éléments de preuve et des arguments concernant ces faits sociaux, ou ce contexte, et les utiliser afin de résoudre adéquatement les questions précises posées.

5.       Clarté de pensée se manifestant particulièrement dans l’écrit.

Dans la plupart des cas, on s’attend à ce que la Cour suprême publie par écrit les raisons qui motivent ses décisions, ce qu’elle fait généralement. Les décisions de la Cour constituent son principal moyen de communiquer avec les parties, les tribunaux, les autres organes du gouvernement et le public canadien. Les motifs aident à expliquer les fondements des décisions visant à trancher des questions juridiques complexes. Les motifs permettent aussi à la Cour de s’acquitter de son devoir consistant à guider les tribunaux inférieurs qui devront appliquer ses décisions dans le cadre de futures affaires. L’excellence en expression écrite est donc essentielle aux travaux de la Cour, et les écrits antérieurs d’un candidat doivent faire l‘objet d’un examen. Ces écrits peuvent prendre diverses formes : décisions judiciaires, rapports, exposés d’arguments de droit, ouvrages, traités et articles spécialisés. Les écrits peuvent, par exemple, être examinés en vue d’en déterminer la clarté, la précision, la maîtrise de la loi, la force de persuasion et l’équilibre. Il est attendu que les documents examinés soient surtout de nature juridique, mais des écrits d’une autre nature peuvent apporter une certaine aide.

6.       Capacité à travailler dans des délais très serrés tout en examinant attentivement et avec diligence un volume important de documents écrits dans tous les domaines du droit.

La Cour suprême instruit des appels dans tous les domaines du droit. Ses neuf membres se partagent diverses tâches décisionnelles. Les affaires portées à l’attention de la Cour suprême contiennent souvent des centaines de pages, et les juges examinent diverses affaires simultanément. Les juges doivent examiner des documents en préparation d’affaires, revoir des documents concernant les décisions qu’ils rédigent, et lire les ébauches et les mémos de leurs collègues. La charge est lourde et constante. Le travail nécessite, par conséquent, beaucoup d’énergie, d’efforts et une faculté d’apprentissage significative.

7.       Engagement à l’égard du service public

Les juges font partie de la communauté et offrent un service essentiel au public tout en s’acquittant de leur rôle constitutionnel d’arbitres impartiaux chargés de régler les différends. Un intérêt manifeste pour l’engagement communautaire par une participation à des organismes communautaires et à des activités de bénévolat serait un atout.

 

Qualités personnelles

1.       Intégrité personnelle et professionnelle irréprochable.

La Cour suprême a  noté : « Le juge constitue le pilier de l’ensemble du système de justice et des droits et libertés que celui-ci tend à promouvoir et à protéger. » Les juges doivent eux-mêmes incarner les idéaux sur lesquels repose la primauté du droit.

Par conséquent, les Canadiens s’attendent, à juste titre, à ce que les juges satisfassent aux normes d’éthique les plus élevées. Comme la juge en chef du Canada l’a indiqué, « La capacité de l’appareil judiciaire canadien de fonctionner efficacement et d’offrir le genre de justice dont les Canadiens et Canadiennes ont besoin et qu’ils méritent repose en grande partie sur les normes déontologiques de nos juges. » De plus, comme on peut le lire dans les Principes de déontologie judiciaire du Conseil canadien de la magistrature, « La confiance et le respect que le public porte à la magistrature sont essentiels à l’efficacité de notre système de justice et, ultimement, à l’existence d’une démocratie fondée sur la primauté du droit. »

2.       Respect et considération envers les autres.

La Cour suprême est une cour collégiale composée de neuf juges qui travaillent et siègent ensemble toute la journée. Ses juges se penchent sur des questions nationales de la plus haute importance. Leurs décisions sont finales et ne peuvent être portées en appel. Il est essentiel que chaque juge puisse travailler en collaboration avec ses collègues et débattre de sujets de manière respectueuse et constructive. En outre, les juges doivent faire preuve de sensibilité lorsqu’ils traitent avec des personnes occupant des postes subalternes.  On attend d’eux qu’ils respectent les normes les plus élevées en matière de professionnalisme, de respect et de courtoisie

3.       Capacité de tenir compte d’opinions, de points de vue et d’expériences de vie variés, y compris concernant des groupes traditionnellement désavantagés de la société canadienne.

Outre ses connaissances juridiques, un juge doit immanquablement se fonder sur le bon sens et l’expérience. Il est donc essentiel que son point de vue ne soit ni trop étroit d’esprit, ni trop réfractaire au changement. Un juge doit pouvoir faire preuve d’empathie à l’égard de personnes provenant de milieux très différents du sien.

4.       Force morale

Aux termes de la constitution canadienne, l’indépendance judiciaire est reconnue comme un principe constitutionnel non écrit. Ce principe vise à protéger la capacité des juges de trancher des affaires de façon impartiale, sans aucune influence externe ou coercition. Les juges canadiens jouissent d’une grande indépendance qui est respectée dans le monde entier. Malgré tout, les juges de la Cour suprême font parfois face à des questions extrêmement complexes; ils peuvent devoir prendre des décisions qui sont en contradiction avec les volontés exprimées par le gouvernement, avec l’opinion publique ou avec l’opinion de leurs collègues. Cela nécessite une certaine force morale.

5.       Discrétion

Les juges traitent des renseignements personnels et de nature délicate. Leurs discussions sont assujetties au secret des délibérations et ne peuvent être révélées. Il est donc essentiel que les juges soient discrets.

6.       Ouverture d’esprit

Une des qualités les plus importantes d’un juge est la capacité de garder l’esprit ouvert face à toute affaire dont il pourrait être saisi. Cependant, on ne s’attend pas à ce que les juges soient des pages blanches. Le fait qu’un candidat a déjà exprimé une opinion sur un certain sujet dont la cour pourrait être saisie n’est pas un critère d’exclusion, mais un juge doit être capable d’apprécier la preuve et les arguments de manière juste et impartiale dans un cas donné, et de mettre de côté ses opinions personnelles lorsqu’il rend une décision.

 

Besoins institutionnels de la Cour

1.       Assurer un équilibre raisonnable entre l’expertise en droit public et celle en droit privé, en tenant compte des tendances historiques de répartition de ces domaines dans les appels à la Cour suprême.

La Cour suprême du Canada est une cour générale d’appel pour le Canada, qui instruit les appels dans tous les domaines des cours d’appel provinciales et territoriales et de la Cour d’appel fédérale et de  la Cour d’appel de la Cour martiale du Canada. Selon les statistiques les plus récentes, environ un quart de ces affaires instruites par la Cour suprême sont des affaires criminelles non liées à la Charte, presque un cinquième sont des affaires criminelles liées à la Charte et un autre cinquième sont des affaires non criminelles liées à la Charte ou à la Constitution. La Cour instruit d’autres types d’affaires, mais les domaines susmentionnés représentent les domaines les plus importants de la charge de travail de la Cour.

2.       Expertise dans tout sujet précis dont il est régulièrement question dans les appels et qui est actuellement sous-représentée à la Cour.

En raison de sa charge de travail diversifiée, la Cour  doit avoir des juges dont la diversité d' expertise permet de traiter de questions particulières qui peuvent être soulevées.  Un poste vacant à la Cour peut donner lieu à un besoin d’expertise dans un domaine précis, par exemple le droit criminel, administratif, fédéral ou commercial.

3.       Veiller à ce que les membres de la Cour suprême reflètent raisonnablement la diversité de la société canadienne.

Le Canada est l’une des sociétés les plus diversifiées au monde, mais cette diversité ne se reflète pas pleinement dans ses institutions. La Cour suprême est le symbole le plus important et reconnu du système de justice. Avoir une Cour  qui reflète raisonnablement la diversité canadienne permet à celle-ci, dans toute affaire donnée, de bénéficier d’un vaste éventail d’avis et de points de vue. Une telle Cour favorise également la confiance du public dans l’administration de la justice, ainsi que dans le processus de nomination.