Supreme Court of Canada Appointment Process - 2017

On July 14, 2017, the Prime Minister of Canada opened the process to select the next justice of the Supreme Court of Canada to fill the vacancy created by the upcoming retirement of Chief Justice Beverley McLachlin. (View Prime Minister’s news release)

Under the new process used for the first time in 2016, an independent and non-partisan Advisory Board, will again be given the task of identifying suitable candidates who are jurists of the highest caliber, are functionally bilingual, and are representative of the diversity of Canada. The Advisory Board will submit a short list of three to five individuals for consideration by the Prime Minister. The members of the Advisory Board were announced on July 17, 2017. (View Prime Minister’s news release)

Chief Justice McLachlin was appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada from the Supreme Court of British Columbia where she was Chief Justice. In recognition of the custom of regional representation, this process will be open to candidates from Western Canada (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba) and Northern Canada (Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Yukon). When applying, through the Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada, candidates should make reference to their bar membership, judicial appointment, or other relationship with Western Canada or Northern Canada.

The application period ends September 15, 2017. This process is to fill the ninth position on the Supreme Court of Canada. From the nine members then assembled, the Prime Minister will identify the next Chief Justice.

More information regarding the process can be found in the following pages.

Processus de nomination à la Cour suprême du Canada - 2017

Le 14 juillet 2017, le Premier ministre du Canada a ouvert le processus en vue de nommer un juge à la Cour suprême du Canada pour combler la vacance créée par la retraite prochaine de la juge en chef Beverley McLachlin. (voir communiqué de presse du Premier ministre)

En vertu du nouveau processus utilisé pour la première fois en 2016, un comité consultatif indépendant et impartial, recevra encore le mandat d’identifier des candidats qualifiés qui sont des juristes du plus haut calibre, effectivement bilingues et à l’image de la diversité du Canada. Le comité consultatif soumettra à l’attention du Premier ministre une liste de présélection comptant de trois à cinq personnes. Les membres du comité ont été annoncés le 17 juillet 2017. (voir communiqué de presse du Premier ministre)

La juge en chef McLachlin a été nommée à la Cour suprême du Canada alors qu'elle siégeait à la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique en tant que juge en chef. Afin de reconnaître la tradition de représentation régionale, le processus sera ouvert aux candidats de l’Ouest canadien (Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Saskatchewan et Manitoba) et du Nord canadien (Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Nunavut, Yukon). Au moment de poser leur candidature par l’intermédiaire du Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale, les personnes devraient faire état de leur appartenance au barreau, de leur nomination judiciaire ou de tout autre lien avec l’Ouest canadien ou le Nord canadien.

Les candidatures seront acceptées jusqu’au 15 septembre 2017. Ce processus vise à combler le neuvième poste à la Cour suprême du Canada. Le Premier ministre identifiera le prochain juge en chef parmi les neuf membres de la cour.

De plus amples informations sont disponibles dans les pages qui suivent.