How to Apply and Instructions

Important Information

All candidates who wish to be considered for appointment as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada must complete this Questionnaire. In addition to the completion of this Questionnaire, all candidates must submit the attachments requested in PART 7, and PART 8, if applicable. In order for their Application Package to be considered complete, candidates must submit it by e-mail to the Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs (OCFJA) at the following address: SCCBoard-ComiteCSC@fja-cmf.gc.ca. The Application Package will consist of the following documents sent in multiple e-mails in the manner indicated below:

If possible, these first three documents should be sent in one e-mail.

AND, in separate e-mails:

  • five decisions, legal documents or publications (see Part 7, Skills Assessment)

  • relevant documentation (if applicable) (see Part 8)

NOTE 1: The subject line of all e-mails should read as follows: SSC Nomination Process - <Last Name, First Name>. (Ex. SCC Nomination Process - Doe, Jane)

NOTE 2: Candidates must provide their responses within the space provided within the Questionnaire, except as specifically provided above.

Please DO NOT provide any of the following: reference letters, photographs, separate curriculum vitae.

Please note: It is strongly recommended that candidates inform themselves of any e-mail size restrictions that are imposed by their Internet Service Providers (ex. Courthouse-provided e-mail system, Rogers, Bell, etc.) as this may cause technical difficulties in transmitting large documents to OCFJA. If candidates experience technical difficulties when attempting to submit their Questionnaire, they should contact the FJA Service Desk (1-888-495-8849) for immediate assistance. OCFJA will issue a confirmation message to acknowledge receipt of all e-mails that are successfully received.

Privacy Notice

All information collected in an Application Package is collected by OCFJA for the Independent Board for Supreme Court of Canada Judicial Appointments (Advisory Board), pursuant to the authority conferred by the Order in Council establishing the Advisory Board. The personal information collected is used to support the Advisory Board's mandate to assess applications received from candidates and provide a list of qualified candidates to the Prime Minister for appointment as Justices of the Supreme Court of Canada. Personal information collected is protected in conformity with the Privacy Act. The personal information collected may be used and disclosed to other government institutions and organizations, including the Privy Council Office, the Department of Justice and the Office of the Prime Minister as well as to third parties, for the purposes of this assessment and the recommendation of candidates for appointment. Personal information collected may be used and disclosed for other purposes in conformity with the Privacy Act. In any other instance, personal information will only be used or disclosed with the consent of the individual.

While confidentiality will be maintained to the extent possible, if a candidate is chosen as the nominee of the Prime Minister, it is important to be aware of the fact that it is intended that at that time the information, including personal information, contained in PARTS 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 10 of this Questionnaire is to be disclosed to the public. The nominee will be asked to consent to the release of any personal information contained in those Parts prior to its release.

Deadline

Only Application packages received by the deadline will be considered by the Advisory Board. It is the responsibility of candidates to ensure that their applications are complete and that all materials have been successfully delivered to the OCFJA no later than 23:59 Pacific Daylight Time on September 15, 2017. Late or incomplete application packages may not be considered by the Advisory Board.

Comment poser sa candidature et instructions

Renseignements importants

Toutes les personnes qui souhaitent soumettre leur candidature au poste de juge de la Cour suprême du Canada doivent remplir le présent questionnaire. En plus de remplir le présent questionnaire, tous les candidats doivent, le cas échéant, soumettre la documentation demandée à la PARTIE 7 et à la PARTIE 8. Pour que leur dossier de candidature soit considéré comme étant complet, les candidats doivent le soumettre par courriel au Bureau du commissaire à la magistrature fédérale (BCMF) à l'adresse suivante : SCCBoard-ComiteCSC@fja-cmf.gc.ca. Le dossier de candidature comprendra les documents suivants qui seront envoyés en plusieurs courriels de la manière indiquée ci-après :

Si possible, ces trois premiers documents devraient être envoyés dans un seul courriel.

ET, dans des courriels distincts :

  • cinq décisions, documents juridiques ou publications (voir la Partie 7, Évaluation des compétences)

  • des documents pertinents (le cas échéant) (voir la Partie 8)

REMARQUE 1 : La ligne d'objet de tous les courriels doit être ainsi libellée : Processus de nomination à la CSC - <Nom de famille, Prénom>. (ex., Processus de nomination à la CSC - Doe, Jane)

REMARQUE 2 : Les candidats doivent inscrire leurs réponses dans l'espace prévu à cette fin dans le questionnaire, sauf dans les cas susmentionnés.

N'ENVOYEZ PAS ce qui suit : lettres de recommandation, photographies, curriculum vitae distinct.

Remarque : Il est fortement recommandé aux candidats de s'informer si leur fournisseur de service Internet impose des restrictions sur la taille des courriels (ex., système de courriel fourni par le palais de justice, Rogers, Bell, etc.) car cela peut entraîner des difficultés techniques lorsqu'on tente de transmettre des documents volumineux au BCMF. Si des candidats éprouvent des difficultés techniques lorsqu'ils tentent de soumettre leur questionnaire, ils doivent communiquer avec le Bureau de service du BCMF (1-888-495-8849) afin d'obtenir de l'aide immédiate. Le BCMF enverra un message de confirmation accusant réception de tous les courriels qui ont été bien reçus.

Avis de confidentialité

Tous les renseignements personnels figurant dans un dossier de candidature sont recueillis par le BCMF pour le Comité consultatif indépendant sur les nominations des juges à la Cour suprême du Canada (Comité consultatif), conformément au pouvoir conféré par le décret établissant le Comité consultatif. Les renseignements personnels recueillis sont utilisés pour appuyer le mandat du Comité consultatif qui consiste à examiner les demandes provenant de candidats et à soumettre au premier ministre une liste de candidats qualifiés pour le poste de juge à la Cour suprême du Canada. Les renseignements personnels recueillis sont protégés conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements personnels recueillis peuvent, pour les besoins de l'évaluation et de la recommandation de candidats à la nomination, être utilisés et divulgués à d'autres institutions et organisations gouvernementales, notamment le Bureau du Conseil privé, le ministère de la Justice et le Cabinet du premier ministre ainsi qu'à des tiers. Les renseignements personnels recueillis peuvent être utilisés et divulgués pour d'autres fins, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Dans tous les autres cas, les renseignements personnels ne seront utilisés et divulgués qu'avec le consentement de la personne.

Bien que la confidentialité soit autant que possible assurée, si un candidat est choisi par le premier ministre, il est important de savoir qu'il est prévu qu'à ce moment les renseignements, y compris les renseignements personnels, compris aux PARTIES 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 et 10 du présent questionnaire seront divulgués au public. On demandera au candidat retenu de consentir à la divulgation des renseignements personnels figurant dans ces parties avant de procéder à la divulgation.

Date limite

Seuls les dossiers de candidature transmis avant la date limite seront examinés par le Comité consultatif. Il incombe aux candidats de s'assurer que leur dossier de candidature est complet et que tous les documents ont bel et bien été livrés au BCMF au plus tard à 23 h 59, heure avancée du Pacifique, le 15 septembre 2017. Les dossiers de candidature incomplets ou transmis en retard ne seront peut-être pas examinés par le Comité consultatif.